Title III

TITLE III, PART A Program Overview ​​​​​

Title III, Part A: Language Instruction for English Learners and Immigrant Students of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 as Amended under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) P.L. 115-141, enacted March 23, 2018, awards subgrants to eligible Local Education Agencies (LEA) “to help ensure that English learners (ELs), including immigrant children and youth, attain English proficiency and develop high levels of academic achievement in English.  In addition, Title III, Part A is supplemental to the LCS ESOL program.

Outreach to Families of English Learners

Lowndes County Schools provides parent outreach opportunities in order to promote parental and community participation in programs for English Learners. Topics include: classroom expectations, available school and community resources and services, and how to understand report cards and standardized test scores. In addition, families receive instruction on how to help their children at home. Supplementary reading and math materials in both English and Spanish are made available to the parents English Learners.

LCS Outreach to Families of English Learners Presentation in English and Spanish

Resources for Families of English Learners

LCS Student Parent Handbook 2019-2020
Colorin Colorado
My Child is an English Learner Flyer-English
Mi hijo(a) es un(a) aprendiz del inglés: Una guía para padres de familia
School Transition Information in English and Spanish
My Child is an English Learner: What does that mean? - English
Mi niño es un Aprendiz del Idioma Inglés: Que significa esto? - Espanol
My Child is an English Learner: What can I do to support my child? - English
Mi niño es un Aprendiz del Idioma Ingles: Que puedo hacer para apoyar a mi niño? - Espanol
What are the English language development standards? - English
Cuáles son los estándares para el desarrollo del idioma Ingles? - Espanol
What does the ACCESS Score Report tell me? - English
Que me dice el Reporte de Resultados del ACCESS? - Espanol

Parent Communication Plan

Home Language Survey

The home language survey is given to all parents of students to complete at registration. If a language other than English is identified, students will be screened for English Language Proficiency.

Universal Home Language Surveys Information

School-Home Communication

Per federal law, school-home communication must be provided in a language that families understand. In an effort to facilitate this communication, translation and interpretation services are available at no charge to families who require assistance in understanding all district and school related information. Lowndes County Schools provides assistance to families of English Learners in their home language. Lowndes County Schools uses World Wide Interpreter and Transact.com as resources for school-home communication. Families or students who need assistance in a language other than English may call 229-245-2250.

Parent Notification for English Learners

The district assures that parental notification is provided as required for:

  • notification of initial or continuing program placement in the ESOL Program
  • notification of annual assessment for English language proficiency
  • annual assessment score reports to show growth in language proficiency (Listening, Speaking, Reading, Writing)
  • exit from ESOL Program

Title I or Title III Supplemental Language Supports

Complaint Procedures

Any individual, organization, or agency may file a complaint with the Lowndes County School System (LCSS) if they believe and allege that LCSS is violating a federal statue or regulation regarding the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA). The complaint must allege a violation that occurred not more than one (1) year prior to the date the complaint is received unless a longer period is reasonable because the violation is considered to be systemic or ongoing. A written complaint should be addressed to: Lowndes County Board of Education, Attn: Federal Projects Director, 1592 Norman Drive, Valdosta, Georgia 31601.

Lowndes County Schools' ESOL Program

English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) is a state-funded instructional program for eligible English Learners (ELs) in grades K-12 (Georgia School Law Code 1981, § 20-2-156, enacted in 1985). The ESOL program is a standards-based curriculum emphasizing academic and social language development. ESOL coursework is based upon the WIDA Consortium English Language Development (ELD) standards. Classroom teachers integrate these ELD standards with the Georgia Performance Standards to enable ELs to both communicate in English and demonstrate their academic, social, and cultural proficiency. Instructional approaches, both in ESOL and general education classes, ensure that the needs of Georgia’s ELs are accommodated.

Georgia Department of Education ESOL Resource Guide 2018-2019
LCS ESOL Resource Guide 2018-2019

ESOL Contacts

Joy Cowart Teacher Lowndes Middle School/Lowndes High School joycowart@lowndes.k12.ga.us
Julie Love Teacher Clyattville Elementary School julielove@lowndes.k12.ga.us
Susan Phillips Teacher Clyattville Elementary School susanphillips@lowndes.k12.ga.us
Stacy Anderson Teacher Dewar Elementary School stacyanderson@lowndes.k12.ga.us
Melanie Sainz Teacher Pine Grove Middle and Pine Grove Elementary School melaniesainz@lowndes.k12.ga.us
Arnedra Moore Teacher Hahira Elementary and Hahira Middle School arnedramoore@lowndes.k12.ga.us
Laura Copeland Teacher Lake Park Elementary School lauracopeland@lowndes.k12.ga.us
Kris Stites Teacher Westside Elementary School krisstites@lowndes.k12.ga.us
 Andrea Huguley Teacher Moulton Branch Elementary School andreahuguley@lowndes.k12.ga.us
Herb Hamilton Director Lowndes County Schools herbhamilton@lowndes.k12.ga.us