Announcements‎ > ‎

LEIF Seeks 2018 Distinguished Alumnus Nominations

posted Nov 14, 2017, 2:18 PM by LAVERNE ROME
Viking Shield Logo

The Lowndes Education Improvement Foundation (LEIF) is seeking nominations for the Lowndes County Schools Distinguished Alumnus Award. This award, created in 2006, is offered to honor former students who have translated their Lowndes County Schools’ experience into distinguished service in the public, business, professional, or educational community.  It is also the mission of the award to inspire current students to aspire to similar achievements and to underscore the importance of exploiting the fine educational opportunities offered by the Lowndes County School System.  These notable people must have graduated from or been enrolled in LCS at least 10 years ago and must have distinguished themselves through achievement, service, or contributions to society.  This annual recognition program is sponsored by the Lowndes Education Improvement Foundation.

Past recipients of this award include:

 2017 – Dr. Lee Bradford Lucas

2016 - Robert Soper

2015 - Dr. Kevin Williams

2014 - Rhett Akins

2013 - Dr. Stephen Zeigler

2012 – Hugh C. Chancy

2011 - John T. Milhous, III

2010 - Cathy Biles Parker

2009 – Dr. Curt Starling

2008 – Randall Godfrey

2007 – Representative Amy Carter

2006 – Jay Platt

 Applications for the 2018 award are due by February 9.  The award will be presented at the annual LEIF Banquet, April 19, at Lowndes High School. 

Note:  Nomination packets are kept on file and they carry over from year to year.  If your nominee from previous years was not selected, the packet will be considered as is on file or you may contact LaVerne Rome to make revisions by February 9.  

Nov 14, 2017, 2:18 PM